Are you an introvert?

I got an idea for this blog post after I watched one video that really cleared out for me that I was an introvert. I mean, I kind of always suspected that I was, but never really thought about it much because I considered it unimportant to who I am, which couldn’t be further from the truth.


Introversion and extraversion are central dimensions of human personality theories (according to Wikipedia). And by definition introversion is the state of or tendency toward being wholly or predominantly concerned with and interested in one’s own mental life. On other hand extraversion is the act, state, or habit of being predominantly concerned with obtaining gratification from what is outside the self.
Reading those definitions made me really confused so, I opted to Urban Dictionary for more definitions.
An introvert is a person who is energized by spending time alone. Often found in their homes, libraries, quiet parks that not many people know about, or other secluded places, introverts like to think and be alone. Also something very important was mentioned in the definition which I find helpful; Contrary to popular belief, not all introverts are shy. Some may have great social lives and love talking to their friends but just need some time to be alone to “recharge” afterwards.The word “Introvert” has negative connotations that need to be destroyed. Introverts are simply misunderstood because the majority of the population consists of extroverts. You see, I wouldn’t classify myself as a shy person because once I was one, but I indeed am a person who just needs some alone time to think.

Satisfied with definition of an introvert I went to see what was under the term extrovert. There I’ve found a lot definition that weren’t really appropriate, but I will show you just one that I thought describes the term best. An extrovert is someone who recharges their energy from being around people. Doesn’t mind being alone, but prefers the company of others as it makes them excited. Doesn’t mean that they are good with people or happy all of the time, but that other people’s company is important to them. Now when we clarified that let’s go into my personal relationship with these terms.

I realized that even though being an introvert doesn’t define me, it certainly affects my life approach. I had so many experience where that got the best of me, but I am working on changing that.

For instance, I would rather get lost while searching for something at a store then to ask an employee for help. Also I like shopping alone. There are some things that I don’t like to do when other people are around, like going to a busy restaurant with my friends and ordering food because I don’t like eating in front of other people, so I eat home alone where I feel better. I never need someone elses company to feel good, in fact I feel at my best when I am alone because that is when I am the most creative. Sometimes I really need some alone time to get thing right with myself, even if that just means talking to myself about things that bother me or blasting some great music through my headphones. And as I mentioned a bit earlier, it’s not shyness because I can perfectly communicate with customers when I am working or with people I know and I like to talk to, it’s just that I feel good (might I say better) by myself. Many people don’t understand this, but I don’t feel lonely because I am alone, not any introvert does.

That would be all for now. I hope you liked this and if you did be sure to like this post a maybe leave a comment down below.


SO GOOD BYE FOR NOW, MY FRIENDS (if anyone is even reading)
10 thoughts on “Are you an introvert?

  1. I feel I am a bit of both. It depends on my energy levels- I do like to be alone and recharge (I have noticed I literally need that on many occasions), and I do like being around people. Its like you get to know more of many things and the world just by having a conversation with different people and I like that. I do sometimes feel the need to collect myself by being by myself, that’s when people think I am just bored being with them (which is never the case ) 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am a introvert and I always have been. I love being alone and my house is my sanctuary. As the definition stated I do like spending time with a few people and I do enjoy getting out but I put people in what I call categories. I do certain activities with certain people. It just works for me. At 50 it will most likely not change. I really enjoyed this post. Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this post. While I have not put much thought into it, I think I’ve always considered myself to be an introvert (if I had to choose one). Your definitions surely confirmed why I would consider myself to be an introvert and like you, I am not shy, I just prefer my own company. I don’t need to be around others to feel good, I comfort myself and I am more creative when I am alone. Thanks for the clarification. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Writing 101: Day Six – A space to write | Small Town Blogger

Leave a Reply

