april · review · writing

13 Reasons Why – why it is so special

I am sure a lot of you heard about this title recently, since Netflix dropped the season some time ago. It was based on a book written a couple of years ago and it was first meant to be made into a movie, but thank God it is a series because it has so much going on that I don’t think anyone can catch up in two hours.


What I wanted to talk to you about today is why this show is so special and why you should watch it if you didn’t already. I am not going to mention any spoilers so you are safe to read further.

This show is ab13-reasons-why_0.jpgout a girl named Hannah Baker who was bullied and misunderstood in her high-school. She killed herself and the story actually starts and ends with her suicide. Before she killed herself she made 13 taped explaining the reasons why she killed herself, people who caused her to do so. We are actually following Clay, Hannah’s coworker and let’s say friend, getting the tapes and listening to them one by one and revealing us what has happened in Hannah’s life since she moved to this high-school until her death.  That is all the basic information you need to get the just of this show, now let’s start with what I meant to write today.

So 13 Reasons Why. A show like nothing I have ever seen before. Not only it shows suicide, but also rape, bullying, lying, sexuality and most of all the lost life of a teenager. All topics mentioned in various shows and movies but never like this. It is so raw and real that by watching it you are so aware that this is so real, this is something that is happening right now to someone you don’t know, and something that has happened to someone you know but you have no idea about it.
What I was personally most surprised about was the scene from the last episode. The scene we all knew was going to happen, even you who just have read the short overview I have written above. The scene that shows how Hannah actually killed herself. And I mean really shows it. I have never seen something like that shown anywhere, not in dramas, not in shows with medical or criminal background not anywhere. The act of slitting your wrists sound so scary to most of us, but seeing this scene on my screen I was terrified, I was moved, I was shaken to my core. Seeing Hannah’s obvious pain that she considered the last and ultimate option that she has to take woke me up like a cold shower. I understand why this was made. Any suicidal person who has watched the show and especially that scene would be so shaken that he or she would reconsider everything he or she thought about, including me.
Also a thing about this show that is great is showing how much human interaction and contact is important. And how much people actually affect one another on a everyday basis. Those 13 people Hannah mentions as her reasons, they are not all aware they did something so awful to this girl, most of them don’t even think about their actions once they do them. No body cares, until she is dead. No body but Clay.
Show also to me represents what a lack of communication can do. People often just assume what the other person is thinking, or are too scared to say what they want, resulting in a lot of important things being left unsaid. A lot of problems in everyday life are caused by lack of communication and compassion. This show also presents how people have become number as a result of having technology and hiding behind it. I think that’s the reasons the author choose tapes as a media through which Hannah speaks to people who have hurt her, which is genius when you stop and think about it.
Something very important that was highlighted was that even if you did not say no it doesn’t mean that it isn’t rape, it certainly doesn’t mean that you want it. Consent is a real thing people! Especially when a person isn’t able to say no, or when a person is trying to get away without saying no. Just because you want something or you feel entitled to something it doesn’t mean it is yours to take. This is a real issue, and I guess it isn’t talked about enough since a lot of people have no idea what consent means. It also talks about teenagers pressuring their partners about having sex and the whole slut shaming thing that happens in every highs school around the world. It shows how different an untrue rumour about a girl is treated with an abominable amount of slut shaming, but when it comes to a guy raping it is covered up.
All in all it is an interesting show to watch, but also a really hard one. I really recommend it to everyone and I already talked all my friends into watching it. I haven’t yet heard or read anything negative about the show, but most importantly I couldn’t find something negative about it myself. If you have already watched it or you just started watching it leave your opinion about the show in the comments below!
Thank you for reading and for your attention (this was probably one of my longest post ever), I hope I have at least presented you something interesting to read if nothing else. If I made you want to see this show right away please let me know in the comments as well and mention why exactly!

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54493_157_FA4B4A182DF1537DBD53322870A28D28Social media:
Tumblr: girlonfire-youtube-lover
Instagram: @smalltownblogger_m
Email: medicmagdalena@gmail.com